Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2014, 04:12 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 537
Front plug

I decided to install a front 50 amp plug. Since we have the gen prep package and don't have an on board generator, I used some #6 wire from the transfer switch to install a front 50 amp plug. Handy for some parks that have a front pedestal.
The white box houses my 4 - 6 volt batteries.

Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg front plug.jpg (169.7 KB, 14 views)
brenkco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 05:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 351
Thought about doing this myself. Thanks
__________________
Chuck & Carol

Full Timers in our 2013 36FL with MoRryde 8000# IS suspension. Pulled by 2012 Sport Chassis with Hensley Trailer Saver Hitch.
UNDRPSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,004
Very nice! Great work.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,054
Wondering, are both front and back 'live' as they disabled our rear plug when putting cord reel up front...
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
AlanN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 227
I had this on my list for my dealer prep, since we also have the gen prep pkg. - dealer said this would take about 4 hours of service time! I don't think so... I'll do it myself and save a few hundred $$$, thank you very much.
Nice looking install.
__________________
Alan & Angele
2014 RW 38GK, Curt Q24 Hitch.
2014 Ram 3500 crew cab dually. Knapheide low-profile Westerner utility body.
Full-timing starting in August, 2014
AlanN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 11:43 PM   #6
Traveling
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 910
Great looking install! I would love to have this. Perhaps I am remembering wrong, but seems like they disable the other plug because of safety, it becomes live if you have the unit plugged in on the other end! I think that's what I remember... If so BE CAREFUL!!
TNTBaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 01:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 151
I did mine as well. No, the back plug isn't live because the transfer switch disables that when it receives power from the front and visa versa....
__________________
Tim and Paula
2015 RW 39MB - Mor/ryde 8K IS with Kodiak Disc brakes. Goodyear G114s on 17.5 Rims. 420 watts Solar on roof, 440 amps of AGM batteries, 2000 watt Magnum inverter wired to sub panel.
2016 Ford F-350 DRW - B&W 20k OEM Companion hitch, Firestone Airbags
trfield58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 06:57 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 537
Trfield58 is exactly right. The function of the transfer switch IS to disable the other feed. The unused plug is always disabled, either front or back.

AlanN, four hours is crazy! I lifted the front jacks to give us more room. It took minutes to cut the front hole. Working with #6 wire and getting to the transfer switch was difficult. A tall, lanky friend of mine did the wiring for me. Start to finish, less than an hour.
brenkco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 01:03 PM   #9
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenkco View Post
Trfield58 is exactly right. The function of the transfer switch IS to disable the other feed. The unused plug is always disabled, either front or back.

AlanN, four hours is crazy! I lifted the front jacks to give us more room. It took minutes to cut the front hole. Working with #6 wire and getting to the transfer switch was difficult. A tall, lanky friend of mine did the wiring for me. Start to finish, less than an hour.
That is an excellent idea. Our 36RL also has the generator prep package but no generator. I haven't had the issue of not being able to hook up due to bad placement of utilities, but, I know that some folks do run in to that situation.

Thanks for the pictures and info.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 04:39 PM   #10
lwg
Senior Member
 
lwg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 918
Couldn't you easily put a manual switch inline similar to the battery cutoff switch but rated for that voltage?
__________________
2014 Redwood 38BR, Fulltiming
2013 Ford F-350 CCSB 6.7L 4x4 SRW, B&W Companion Hitch, Air Bags
lwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.