Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
This is a much better place to solve problems than the dealership! Thanks to all the conscientious posts.
<?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" />
I have a strange electrical system problem. I will likely be a ping-pong ball between dealer, Lippert, and others. I have a 2012 31SL (love it) and yesterday tried to raise the landing gear but control pad showed error "Low Voltage: Press Enter to Acknowledge." Checked batteries and they show full on inside panel. Connected power cable to truck. Still "Low Voltage." Turned control pad off, then on. Tried again - nothing. So cranked the generator and jacks worked. Today tried to raise landing gear while power cable connected to truck (truck running). "Low voltage" again and jacks would not move (grinding sound for a few seconds). Tried to start generator but not enough power to get it going! After 7th try, generator caught and could retract jacks. Moved rv and dropped it at another site. This time jacks worked and auto level worked with no generator needed. Terminals look fine, no loose connections but something is wrong.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Worried about next time!
__________________
Bill
wvpel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvpel
This is a much better place to solve problems than the dealership! Thanks to all the conscientious posts.
<?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><O:P></O:P>
I have a strange electrical system problem. I will likely be a ping-pong ball between dealer, Lippert, and others. I have a 2012 31SL (love it) and yesterday tried to raise the landing gear but control pad showed error "Low Voltage: Press Enter to Acknowledge." Checked batteries and they show full on inside panel. Connected power cable to truck. Still "Low Voltage." Turned control pad off, then on. Tried again - nothing. So cranked the generator and jacks worked. Today tried to raise landing gear while power cable connected to truck (truck running). "Low voltage" again and jacks would not move (grinding sound for a few seconds). Tried to start generator but not enough power to get it going! After 7th try, generator caught and could retract jacks. Moved rv and dropped it at another site. This time jacks worked and auto level worked with no generator needed. Terminals look fine, no loose connections but something is wrong.
<O:P></O:P>
Thoughts? Suggestions? Worried about next time!


Based on your observations, it appears that you may have an intermittant connection in the wiring from the tow vehicle to the trailer.It could be anywhere along the wiring path. When you dropped it at the second site and the system worked, were you still connected to tow vehicle? If so, that would confirm the tow vehicle wiring issue. If not, it would seem to indicate an intermittant wiring problem in the trailer 12 Volt system.



__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539

I was talking to the service manager at the dealership I bought our 2012 36FL from and he told me they discovered that the ground wires that bolt to the frame weren't making a good connection through the paint on the frame. He said they've been taking the grounds loose, grinding the paint off the frame and re-attaching the grounds wires.
According to him, they were replacing a lot of the ECMs for the LevelUp System due to faulty readings or just failing to work properly. He said they haven't had any issues with the LevelUp system since they started this practice.
I don't know if that is the cause of your problems but it doesn't anything to find out.
The ground wires are bolted to the frame and can be found at the rear of the battery compartment. They are the green ones.
I'd use the battery disconnect to kill any power before you decide to take the ground wires off, clean the frame then re-connect the wires. I'd also spray a little paint over the connections afterwards to cover any exposed metal.
good luck
Edited by: TravelinAnderson
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelinAnderson
I was talking to the service manager at the dealership I bought our 2012 36FL from and he told me they discovered that the ground wires that bolt to the frame weren't making a good connection through the paint on the frame. He said they've been taking the grounds loose, grinding the paint off the frame and re-attaching the grounds wires.

According to him, they were replacing a lot of the ECMs for the LevelUp System due to faulty readings or just failing to work properly. He said they haven't had any issues with the LevelUp system since they started this practice.

I don't know if that is the cause of your problems but it doesn't anything to find out.

The ground wires are bolted to the frame and can be found at the rear of the battery compartment. They are the green ones.

I'd use the battery disconnect to kill any power before you decide to take the ground wires off, clean the frame then re-connect the wires. I'd also spray a little paint over the connections afterwards to cover any exposed metal.

good luck


I check ours this morn. ground wire's were loose in there conector. removed the two screws and sanded the paint off at the mounts. reinstalled and tighten the screws that hold the wires.

Thanks for the tip. I sure it saved a problem later.



Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
I've learned through the years that intermittent electrical issues are often ground related.
Makes me wonder if the people having flickering problems with their LED lights have loose ground wires..
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 10:45 AM   #6
par
Senior Member
 
par's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 160


I can't tell from these posts whether these LED lights are powered from DC or AC, I suspect it is AC. LEDs are DC devices, obviously they can work with AC but need circuitry in the base to convert to DC. I don't know if any of you have seen LED Xmas lights, especially the original ones, they were notorious for having that blinking affect and again I suspect the circuit in the base (which we can all bet was minimal) was simply a resistor to limit the current in the LED but since AC oscillates the blinking would show through. LED lightsthat are built to try and keep their cost down will blink. My 5 cents!
par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 10:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Campers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 427
All the lights on your RW are dc. And the ground issue sounds like something to look into. Thanks for the heads up
__________________
Bud & Lois
Campers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 11:10 AM   #8
par
Senior Member
 
par's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Campers
All the lights on your RW are dc. And the ground issue sounds like something to look into. Thanks for the heads up
Thank you for the update... I am currently a RW owner in waiting.
I did not realize that all lights were DC. So if anything goes wrong with my DC converter then we have no lights and probably a bunch of other stuff would die also. Has anyone looked at the output of the converter, that's probably a silly question since you need an oscilloscope, but if that is not a pure DC it could explain flicker.

par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 11:59 AM   #9
Site Team
 
Blenhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 646


Par Wrote:


Thank you for the update... I am currently a RW owner in waiting.
I did not realize that all lights were DC. So if anything goes wrong with my DC converter then we have no lights and probably a bunch of other stuff would die also. Has anyone looked at the output of the converter, that's probably a silly question since you need an oscilloscope, but if that is not a pure DC it could explain flicker.

On most Rv's the lights and refrigerator come directly off the battery and will work without the converter. Not sure about Redwood.
Blenhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 12:24 PM   #10
par
Senior Member
 
par's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 160


I don't have any doubts about your comment... I skipped a few steps, but it your batteries are dead and your sitting at a campground with AC, basically we have no lights.

That's another good question, does therefrigerator on the RWrun on DC?
par is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.