Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
SueMar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 185


Has anyone stayed at a campground (or anywhere else) where you've had only 30 amp electric service? What were you able/unable to run?
__________________
Marty & Suzanne
SueMar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 506
30 amp has run everything in my unit except the air conditioners.
__________________
Dean & Pam - SOB
sinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 325
You should be able to run one AC unit but would have to turn it off to use micro, most 30 Amp boxes also have a 20 Amp plug so I split my 2nd AC out with a transfer switch and plug it into the 20 Amp plug then run both if a box has a 30 and 20 amp breaker in it the wire back to the main service has to be able to carry 50 Amps it's the code.
Also I made up a cord with two 30 Amp plugs into one 50 Amp socket if there's two 30 Amp plug ins withe a breaker on each I use it to get two separate circuits for my big cord but again you have to turn off the main AC to use the micro
Beechguyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Tall-Pines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 80
At the Redwood Rally, we only had 30 amp service (some of us had 30 some had 50).
We popped the campsite breaker when running the AC and the microwave (water heater and fridge and lights etc were turned on but not sure what was drawing power at the time).
We simply fired up the generator and finished breakfast with the AC running!


__________________
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><font color=BROWN>Ian & Jan</font>
Woodview, ON, Canada
2013 36RL w/2011 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
</font><img src="http://cowco.net/images/RedwoodRVForumSig.jpg" border="0"
Tall-Pines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:20 AM   #5
Member
 
timmytfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 71
We have 30 amp service at the campground where we keep ours. When we run one A/C we can't run the microwave or a hair dryer at the same time. When the outside temps were very warm this summer, we switched hot water heater to propane & could run both A/Cs. It's just sort of a trial/error thing & we get along very well with 30 amp service. It's all worth it to have our seasonal lot on the Muskegon River! www.campandcanoe.com
__________________
34SK model that currently stays at River Country Campground, near Evart MI
timmytfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,287


Agree on trial and error. Seems not all 30 amp breakers are created equal (some have been abused more than others). We've been hitting a bunch of Samborees and if you're lucky you get 30 amp, so it's keep the water heater on propane and watch the AC/Microwave use. We've converted all lighting over to LEDs so that's one less rather big power draw from the converter. It can get warm while only running one AC, but we get by.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" GY114s w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
We usually do ok with 30amp service but last week in Mississippi we had temperatures in the mid 90s and humidity to match... the "humiture" was in the low 100s. The campground we stayed in had no trees so by day's end the trailer would be in the mid 80s with one a/c running. I'd fire up the genny and run both airs and whatever else we needed until the the sun went down. Except for the one day that the 20amp breaker on the genny tripped but that was another post..
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:58 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
We just started using our ceiling fan in conjunction with the fireplace to get the chill off. My question is why do we have two pull chains. One is a four position on/off/three speed and the other does nothing. The switch on the side controls the forward or reverse rotation. We have no documentation and would love to know. THANKS
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:03 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Campers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 427


The second chain is for the light fixture that you can insall, these are available at Lowes or Home Depot. You can put one on with very low watt bulbs and have a nice soft light in the room.
__________________
Bud & Lois
Campers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:12 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
Thanks Bud and Lois. I thought that could be a possibility.
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.