Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2019, 10:28 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 602
My literature says 2A fast acting (not time delay).
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:41 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
That's what is there. I was thinking if the previous owner oversized it that might be what damaged the stat but it is correct. I will try cleaning the contacts on the switches but there is no display at all so I will be surprised if it works. Thanks.
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:28 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
XCMARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happycampper View Post
That's what is there. I was thinking if the previous owner oversized it that might be what damaged the stat but it is correct. I will try cleaning the contacts on the switches but there is no display at all so I will be surprised if it works. Thanks.
I cleaned mine back in march , I cant honestly say the screen was blank but I could not get the heat or the heat pump to turn on before my ride out to Morride. That was my cure luckly , those Tstats are not cheap.
__________________
Mark & Melissa
2015 Redwood RL38 , Kodiak disk brakes , 17.5" tires , 8K Morryde IS
XCMARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:47 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
New update.... I am really confused now. I took the t-stat off the wall and connected the red wire +12v and the blue wire -12v to my booster pack and voila the t-stat display lights up just fine. I checked for power on the coach side of these wires and I get 12.4 volts but if I connect just these 2 wires back to the stat and no others just like I did to the booster pack then the stat should light up right? Wrong! I get nothing. How is it possible that the 12v booster pack lights the stat but the 12v wires at the coach that have 12.4 v does not????
I traced back the power wire (red) for the t-stat and they go to the furnace.
I'm thinking that I need to test the t-stat right at the furnace to eliminate any possibility that the thermostat wire is pinched somewhere between the furnace and the wire outlet in the hallway and is able to supply 12v but too damaged to carry any load? I don't know. Maybe I should also jumper red and white right at the furnace to see if it fires up.

I did try jumping White and Red from the hallway to start the furnace and got nothing. I tried jumping red and grey and yellow to start the A/C and again I got nothing.

I'm hoping that someone has another suggestion before I do this as I would have to remove part of the carpeted wall in the basement to get access to the furnace. I can almost reach through the little access door but no quite enough to do the wiring.

Can anyone make sense of this?
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 04:26 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
We had a similar situation. We updated our system and everything has been fine. You have to download to a flash drive and insert in the bottom of the control panel. Hope this helps.
brenda.taylor59@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 08:58 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 333
I'm on my 3rd Tstat on my 2013. Once it just went weird and would work sometimes and sometimes not. Rather than screw around with it, I just replaced it. The slide switch to select between heat and AC failed on the other one. Contact cleaner did nothing for it.
__________________
Elliott & Vicky, and Sadie the GSD copilot
2014 36RE, Onan, Titan disc brakes, 17.5 inch Sailun H tires, lots of other options
2013 RAM 3500 CC, LB, DRW, Cummins, AISIN, 4x4
Elliott & Vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 11:43 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
On our 2014 36RL the thermostat is powered from the furnace control board. There would be 12v when tested static but would drop to ~0v when a load was present. The relay on the furnace control board was defective. Replaced the board and all is well.
Flying Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 01:05 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 302
t stat

you have reversed the + and - when you were testing the wires???
__________________
Meet Teddy Bear
Make Every Day Count
2016 Denali 3500 Diesel SRW
2015 38 GK
Cheryl & Wayne
ted 95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 09:43 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
Problem finally resolved. Thanks to everyone with the help with this issue. I finally took some time to work on this and found that there is on on/off switch inside the furnace behind the outside access cover. This switch was green with corrosion so I decided to bypass it and found that one of the spade connectors has completely corroded away. Once this problem was repaired the t-stat worked fine for the a/c and heat pump but would blow a fuse in the panel when I tried the furnace. Turns out the blower on the furnace was seized. After carefully turning the blower by hand and spraying WD40 I managed to free it up and now everything is working perfectly. This unit is a 2013 that was very seldom used by previous owners and I don't think this furnace has ever been fired up. I guess that's why it seized up. I may have to eventually replace the blower but it's working for now.
Thanks again.
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.