Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2017, 09:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 141
30 amp... 50amp

dumb question...30amp has 3 prongs 120x2 plus neutral...now question is does 50amp have 240 across the two hots and 120 each to the neutral...I know that my old georgie boy had 5kw gen...but only 120volt to the neutral...but had 120volt at 2 pins but not 240 across the two hot.....condensing question down to this....does 50amp shore power have the 240 across the 2 hot legs....
katy4man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 10:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
To answer your question - yes - 50A has 240 across two hot legs.

Your 30A isn't like you say - its just 30A hot, neutral, ground.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 11:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 141
that's what I meant to say about 30amp hot neutral ground not 120 x 2...mind and fingers don't always be coordinated....but thanks
katy4man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 11:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 308
[QUOTE..but only 120volt to the neutral...but had 120volt at 2 pins but not 240 across the two hot.....condensing question down to this....does 50amp shore power have the 240 across the 2 hot legs....[/QUOTE]
Shore power should have 240v phase A and B. 2 hots - 1 neutral - 1 ground. But all your equipment runs on 120v. The reason is a lot of CGs cheat and give you only 50a 120v times 2. You could have 2 phase A or 2 phase B..And if you try to run an actual 240v item it will not work. So to break it down easy. 30a = 1-30a 120v line....50a = 2-50a 120v lines
__________________
Meet Teddy Bear
Make Every Day Count
2016 Denali 3500 Diesel SRW
2015 38 GK
Cheryl & Wayne
ted 95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 11:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 141
pic of 30amp cord

cord.JPG pic of 30 amp adapter
katy4man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 11:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 141
appears you end up with 1 phase of 120 at 2 locations...
katy4man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.